The people we know

This is my good buddy Sam. He is one of the hardest working human beings I have met in my entire life. As an immigrant from Cuba, in search of better opportunity, Sam has transformed his life and shown anyone who has come in contact with him what it's like to work for what you desire and truly be anything you want if you believe in yourself and just do it. He never forgets to be grateful for what and who he has around him, he stays positive and when it's time to make it happen, he just does it. Such an inspiration to me.

There were mornings, training for my first 50 mile run, I'd wake up and sit at the foot of my bed, with my elbows on my knees and my face in my hands. And in my own self-agony remember that at the dark winter hour of 5:30am, Sam had already been at the gym for a half hour… and it was in those moments of remembering my good buddy, my coworker, my new inspiration, working his ass off for all he wanted, I'd get up, layer up and get out the door.

It's been a blessing to get to know Sam and watch his journey unfold. Tomorrow he steps on stage in Vegas, representing the state of Colorado at USA's. I can't be more stoked for him. He is gonna get up there, strut his stuff and make us proud. No matter the outcome, Sam will remain a massive (pun intended 😉) role model to me in all he's faced, overcome and worked so hard for to get where he is.

Leave a Reply

